What are the Best Free ITIL Courses?


ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It is a library of best practices for managing the services of IT and improvement of IT Support and service levels. It makes sure that the IT practices align with that of business objectives. With the help of ITIL principles, you can get to the root cause of your problems and therefore address them in a more efficient manner. This also means that you will be able to spot the future causes of your problems and thereby have more right visibility to them.

The ITIL framework was developed in the late 20th century in the form of books that spanned more than 30 volumes. Around 2000, the ITIL Certification in Hong Kong framework got updated when all of these volumes were streamlined with different aspects of IT management, services, and applications.

The ITIL framework is administered and updated by AXELOS. While the standard version of ITIL is version 3, that is still used today. It is also known that the foundation of version 4 is also being released with its foundations. Version 3 added process improvement, a stronger lifecycle approach, and more processes for aligning business with IT. Therefore, version 4 is more advanced and focuses on fostering digital transformation, artificial intelligence, cloud computing, and DevOps.

Stages of ITIL

  • Service Strategy

This stage of service strategy focuses on service lifecycle and describes how to design, develop and implement IT service management.

  • Service Design

This stage of service design describes the ways to design services and processes.

  • Service Transition

This stage of service management explains how to manage the transition of services and it makes sure that all the service management processes balance.

  • Service Operation

This stage of service operation ensures that all of the processes and services are running smoothly and efficiently.

  • Continual Service Improvement

As businesses need change, continual service improvement makes sure that all of the services are aligned with the business objectives.

Now that you have learned enough about ITIL and its services, read out the rest of the article below to learn more about the free courses on ITIL.

Best Free ITIL Courses

The free ITIL courses from various platforms are listed below:

  • TOGAF 9 combined Level 1 and Level 2 course by Simplilearn

The TOGAF 9 combined Level 1 and Level 2 course is offered by Simplilearn is a basic level course that will just make you build a strong foundation. It is just perfect for the professionals seeking to learn the TOGAF foundation, structure, and concepts.

Key Features: 21 Hours of self-paced video lessons, Completion Certificate, 90 days of free access.

Topics Covered:

  • Core concepts of TOGAF
  • Details of architecture governance
  • Adapting ADM Architecture
  • Architecture Maturity Models
  • Architecture Skills Framework

ITIL 4 Introduction by Udemy

The ITIL 4 introduction course by Udemy is a short-term course that can be completed quickly within one hour of time. So it doesn’t require any prerequisite for taking up this course. The beginners can take up this course.

Key features: free of cost training, short term, introductory, online video format.

Topics covered:

  • Introduction of ITIL 4 Service Value System
  • Introduction of ITIL 4 Four Dimensions of Service Management
  • ITIL 4 training by Free ITIL training

This is also a free training course by Free ITIL Training. So, this is a beginner-level course, that will also help you decide to further take up advanced courses on ITIL.

Key Features: free course, online video format, beginner-level

Topics Covered:

  • Introduction to ITIL
  • service management key concepts,
  • guiding principles and ITIL concepts,
  • ITIL practices
  • next steps.
  • ITIL 4 Introduction on LinkedIn 

The ITIL 4 introduction course can be completed for free on linked In by taking up a one-month free trial.

Key features: short term courses, downloadable content, beginner course, shareable certificate on completion

Topics Covered:

  • Seven guiding principles of ITIL 4
  • 4 Dimensions of Service management
  • Five components of ITIL 4
  • Six service value chain activities
  • ITIL practices
  • IT Governance foundation by Pluralsight

IT Governance foundation by Pluralsight is also a beginner-level course that will just build your foundation in the career of IT service and architecture. It is mainly equipped with the latest tools and technologies that will help you understand IT service.

Key features: 8 hours of content, 6 courses, measurable skills

Topics Covered:

  • IT governance and management
  • IT service management general practices
  • IT service management specific practices
  • IT governance Foundations
  • IT Governance Implementation Foundations.  


These were the free courses that you can learn easily. Before taking up any course, make sure it meets your career objectives and makes you learn efficiently. Thereby it will help you build a strong foundation for advanced topics and career options available today.